Anonymous said…
http://www.stfx.ca/academic/religious-studies/faculty3.html
Thursday, November 17, 2005 10:29:53 AM
Pete said…
Um, “Ken Penner” isn’t an alias. In fact, he’s my Greek professor here at Acadia Divinity College (just started this year). I don’t know what you consider “traceable” but I seriously question your research methods.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 7:22:21 AM
Pete said…
Further to my post, here’s Ken’s website detailing just about EVERYTHING they’ve ever done:
http://s91279732.onlinehome.us/
…including his work at McMaster.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 7:25:35 AM
Geoff Hudson said…
How convenient, the web site http://adc.acadiau.ca/ is under construction.
Is he a Greek, or a professor of Greek? And who are they?
Unfortunately, it seems that many scholars choose to hide behind pseudonymns when writing to certain lists.
This is what I consider traceable.
Geoff Hudson, 233 The Long Shoot, Nuneaton, Warwickshire, CV11 6JH, UK, Tel. 024 7673 7417, geoffdothudsonatntlworlddotcom. (A transparent 100%er who has walked the tightrope – The Sea of Faith by Don Cupitt)
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 9:07:39 AM
Geoff Hudson said…
http://members.fortunecity.com/penners/Ken/index.htm
Interesting – when I try this Ken Penner web site, I get the message:
ERROR – THE PAGE YOU ARE LOOKING FOR WAS NOT FOUND.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 9:26:29 AM
Pete said…
Wow, I don’t know what to say. I gave you his website address, and you came up with some fortunecity address. No idea where that came from. ALL of his information is located at http://s91279732.onlinehome.us/ and it all appears just fine to me and the rest of the world. His CV includes all the information you regard as nessesary to constitute “traceable.”
He is my professor of New Testament Greek at Acadia Divinity College here in Wolfville, Nova Scotia (operating on the campus of Acadia University). The College’s website was defaced last month, and subsequently is under constuction now. Even the simplest surface-level research would make that clear, and I believe I’ve successfully documented that fact on my own blog. Interesting? Only if you’re paranoid.
While I appreciate your attempt to maintain a level of critical skepticism of scholarship claims, your work on this site has been, quite frankly, irresponsible. I hope you’ll take some time to refocus your efforts. It’s a good idea, just executed poorly.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 9:59:09 AM
Geoff Hudson said…
So you will have no objection to identifying yourself in the same manner, will you not, Pete?
For all I know, you might be the illusive Ken Penner yourself? In any event, I would have thought Mr Ken Penner would be writing to me complaining personally.
Strangely, the web site for the Penner family http://members.fortunecity.com/penners/ (which you say you know nothing of)has the same street address in it for Ken Penner as the web site you yourself are crowing about, namely http://s91279732.onlinehome.us Thus according to your own evidence, and by implication, the latter web site you gave me must be a complete fabrication, Pete.
And you have still not said what you meant by your subconcious giveaway ‘they’ve’ – you were obviously aware of the fake Penner family web site. Feeling tied-up in knots Pete? Whose research is looking a bit sick now, Pete?
Can you give me the result of some publicly recorded event or competition, not related to biblical studies, in which Mr Penner’s name appears in the results?
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 12:23:34 PM
Pete said…
Wow, not only are you the worst web researcher I’ve ever encountered, but you also may be suffering from some form of clinical paranoia.
So, because the web is a transient, undulating, ever-changing medium, any 404 errors must be part of the conspiracy. As far as identifying myself, I will happily identify myself as Pete Freckelton of Port Williams, Nova Scotia, and member of New Minas Baptist Church as well as a student at Acadia Divinity College, but I’m not about to post my home phone number and street address on the internet. I have a daughter, so it’s not worth putting her at risk.
All you ever had to do was pick up the phone and CALL some of these folks. Call McMaster! Call Acadia Divinity College! Rather, you make assertions and then dismiss all evidences as “fabrications” in your manufactured conspiracy. The amount of time that would need to be spend to manufacture all the evidence I presented on my blog, including access to university computers and faculty network privledges, would simply not be worth the time and the payoff. What could one possibly gain by impersonating a biblical scholar… victory in an online debate?
Yep, I did make a type-o in that post by saying “they’ve.” If you want to think of it as a Freudian slip in your conspiracy theory, feel free. I now inderstand why Ken never bothered to respond to you (outside of the email you say you recieved). Why would any scholar in his right mind consider it a worthy endeavour to prove his own existance?
Hey, maybe I AM Ken Penner. Maybe I’m Craig Evans too! Maybe I’m Lee McDonald as well! All those names associated with Acadia Divinity College could actually be me. All those books on Amazon by these folks? Those may actually be me! Woohoo! I can hardly wait for the royalty cheques to start rolling in!
Good day sir. This is just too silly, even for the unscholarly likes of me.
Wednesday, December 28, 2005 1:54:04 PM